In Arizona, assault ranks as one of the most charged criminal offenses. The offense is divided according to simple assault and aggravated assault. If you or someone you know has been charged with either offense, it is important to know what you are facing. Aggravated assault particularly can have a deep impact on yours or your loved one's life if a conviction follows the charge. It is important to retain experienced, smart defense counsel to help you fight the charge.
At the Law Offices of Shawn B. Hamp, our criminal defense team is well-equipped with experience, knowledge, and insight. We will review your case and consider all your options and defenses so that we can build a strong case on your behalf. Remember: you are not guilty until proven beyond a reasonable doubt. Shawn Hamp and the legal team at the Law Offices of Shawn B. Hamp hold the State, the judge, and the jury accountable to this principle.
Aggravated Assault in Arizona
A charge of aggravated assault is a serious charge with possible felony criminal penalties attached. If you have been charged with aggravated assault in Arizona, our attorneys can fight to:
- Protect your constitutional rights
- Have your charges dismissed or reduced
- Have your penalties reduced.
Knowing the Law
An assault occurs in Arizona when a person "intentionally, knowingly or recklessly" causes injury to another person. A standard assault charge may be a class 1, 2, or 3 misdemeanor, depending on the factual circumstances of the assault.
For an assault to be an aggravated assault, certain other circumstances must occur:
- Cause significant injury with a deadly weapon
- The assault causes physical disfigurement
- A person enters a private residence to commit the assault
- The victim of the assault is restrained or bound
- Gain control or attempt to gain control of a law enforcement officer's firearm or other weapon
- A firefighter, police officer, paramedic, teacher, or other officer is assaulted
- Commit a "simple" assault while violating a valid protection order or restraining order
- An adult commits an assault against a minor aged 15 years or younger
Penalties for Aggravated Assault
The penalties for aggravated assault depend greatly on the unique factual circumstances of each case, and under which degree of felony the offense has been charged.
|Felony Level||Possible Prison Term||Presumptive Prison Term|
|Class 6 (Least Severe)||18 months to 3 years||27 months|
|Class 5||2 to 4 years||3 years|
|Class 4||4 to 8 years||6 years|
|Class 3||up to 15 years||7.5 years|
|Class 2||7 to 21 years||10.5 years|
The aggravated assault felony will likely be more severe depending on the damage caused to the alleged victim, the reason for the assault, and other factors.
Experienced Criminal Attorneys in Arizona
If you face a charge of aggravated assault, your rights are at risk. A felony charge comes with serious consequences that you should not take lightly.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Shawn B. Hamp have the years of experience needed to fight for your rights. We serve clients in Mohave, Yavapai, La Paz, and Coconino Counties, including the communities of Kingman, Bullhead City, Lake Havasu, Parker, Prescott, Williams and Flagstaff, Arizona. Contact us today for a free consultation.