An assault can occur under a variety of circumstances, but even when the assault is a misdemeanor, the consequences can be serious. Penalties include jail time, fines, and probation. Understanding the different types of misdemeanor assaults under Arizona law is key to protecting your rights.
If you or someone you care for has been arrested for misdemeanor assault, an experienced Arizona defense attorney will take and defend your case. You do not have to fight your charges alone.
Three Types of Misdemeanor Assault in Arizona
There are three types of misdemeanor assault under A.R.S. 13-1203. A misdemeanor assault can happen as the result of any of the following:
- Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person;
- Intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury; or
- Knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke such person.
A person acts intentionally if he or she purposefully engages in the conduct that is the result of the assault charge with the specific objective to cause the defined harm.
A person acts recklessly if he or she is aware that the conduct or actions will cause the result of the injuries with conscious disregard for the substantial and unjustifiable risk that the harm will occur.
A person acts knowingly if he or she is aware or believes that assaultive conduct is criminal in nature. The person does not have to know that the act itself is illegal.
Arizona Penalties for Misdemeanor Assault
The penalties for misdemeanor assault depend on which of the three versions with which you are charged.
Intentional, Knowing, or Reckless Injury to Another Person
If convicted of causing injury to another person, the charge is a Class 1 Misdemeanor assault offense. It is punishable by:
- Up to a maximum of 6 months in jail; and
- A maximum possible fine of $2,500.
Intentionally Place a Person in Apprehension of Imminent Harm
If you are convicted of intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury, you are guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. You face the following possible penalties:
- Up to a maximum possible of 4 months in jail; and
- A maximum possible fine of $750.
Knowingly Touch Another Person with Intent
If you are convicted of knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke another person, you are guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. It is punishable by:
- Up to a maximum of 30 days in jail; and
- A maximum possible fine of $500.
Any of the penalties above can have long-lasting effects on your life and your freedoms. A criminal record can be hard to explain, but there are defenses which are available to protect your rights.
Consult a Northern Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with misdemeanor assault in Arizona, an experienced attorney at the Law Offices of Shawn B. Hamp can represent you in your defense.
We serve clients in Mohave, Yavapai, La Paz, and Coconino Counties, including the communities of Kingman, Bullhead City, Lake Havasu, Parker, Prescott, Williams and Flagstaff, Arizona. Contact us today for a free consultation.