Free Case Evaluation (928) 753-6868

Extreme or Super Extreme DUI in Arizona

Extreme DUI

In order to be charged with an extreme DUI, a police officer must find through the use of a breathalyzer, blood, or urine test that a driver has a BAC between the span of 0.15% to 0.20%. The charge is only justified if it can be proven that a driver had been drinking within two hours that they have been found in physical control of a vehicle. Therefore, during an investigation, a police may ask around what time the alleged intoxicated driver had consumed alcohol. Any inclination or insinuation that this consumption occurred within a two-hour span of getting behind the wheel of a vehicle is justification for receiving an extreme DUI charge in the eyes of the law.

Extreme DUI Penalties

There is a common misconception that an extreme DUI is classified as a felony. This is not true. In fact, this charge is classified under Arizona law as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is the same categorization as a standard DUI. Nevertheless, this charge is still treated as a serious offense.

Here is a general idea of the penalties a motorist may be facing when charged with an extreme DUI:

First Time Extreme DUI

  • 30 days to six months spent in a county jail
  • Up to five years of probation
  • A fine of at least $1,500
  • A drug and alcohol screening
  • Driver's license suspension for 90 days
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

Subsequent Extreme DUI

  • Four months to six months in a county jail
  • Up to five years of probation
  • A fine of at least $1,500
  • A drug and alcohol screening
  • Driver's license suspension for one year
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

Super Extreme DUI

Super extreme DUIs are also classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor in Arizona. In order to be charged with a super extreme DUI, a person must have been found to have a BAC of a .20% or higher within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle.

Super Extreme DUI Penalties

A motorist will be facing the following penalties in the event that they are charged with a super extreme DUI:

First Time Super Extreme DUI

  • 45 days to six months spent in a county jail
  • A fine of at least $3,200
  • A drug and alcohol screening
  • Driver's license suspension
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

Subsequent Super Extreme DUI

  • At least six months spent in jail
  • A fine of at least $3,200
  • A drug and alcohol screening
  • Driver's license suspension
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

It's important to note that the circumstances surrounding a DUI case may lead to penalties that differ from the general list of repercussions described above.

For more on Extreme DUI's check out this blog post

Experienced Arizona DUI Defense Attorneys

We, at the law offices of Shawn B. Hamp, understand that facing DUI charges in the state of Arizona is very intimidating. A lot is at stake, including your driving privileges, future employment opportunities, and even your freedom. Let us weigh your options and assist you through the legal process to increase your chances of a favorable outcome. Contact us today for a consultation.

Contact Us Today

If you have been arrested or charged with a crime you may be feeling frightened, anxious, and uncertain of what your future holds. The competent and experienced attorneys at the Law Offices of Shawn B. Hamp can help you during this difficult time. We are dedicated to fighting for the rights of our clients and providing excellent legal representation to those who have been accused of a crime. Contact our firm today to discuss your case in a free case consultation.

Menu